AL

Adult Lesson (18+) In-Car

Learning the foundational principles is just the beginning.  Now it is time to get real life experience on the road.  Let of safely guide you behind-the-wheel on main roads, parking lots, and the expressway.  We can make arrangements to pick you up at home and drop off.

AL

Adult Lesson (18+) LECTURE

Working on getting your license and your over 18 years old, great!  New to Michigan and need a license?  Welcome!  Let us help you get your license.  We will teach you to the foundational principles of the law, rules, signs, and driving safe procedures on the roads.

Learn More About Adult Lessons

Minimum Age: 18 yrs
Maximum Age: No Maximum

This is the first step for anyone over 18 years of age, International Students, US Immigrant adults to get a Michigan driver’s license is to get Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP). The State of Michigan requires you to practice for at least 30 days before taking your driving test.

We will help you understand the rules of the road, for experienced or new driver. LDA will show you was to anticipate, avoid and survive the hazards on the road.

  • Overview

    Before You Drive

    Study

    Only U.S. citizens and residents with temporary or permanent legal presence may apply for a Michigan driver’s license.

    • LIFE Driving Academy (LDA) will supply all the study material or you can download at the below links from the State.
    • Condensed adult classes available

    Present Appropriate Documentation

    Once you have studied you will need to present the following documents at the Secretary of State (SOS) when your ready to test for your Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP).

    • Social Security number or letter of ineligibility
    • U.S. citizenship or legal presence
    • Identity
    • Michigan residency

    Knowledge, Road Signs and Vision Tests

    Pass vision test, road signs test and physical standards

    Pass knowledge test – given at a Secretary of State (SOS) office, required to get a TIP

    Pay $25 fee for TIP at SOS:

    • Valid for 180 days
    • Required to take driving skills test

    Temporary Instruction Permit

    A Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) allows you to practice driving with a licensed adult for up to 180 days. A TIP is issued if you are age 18 or older and:

    • Have never been licensed
    • Hold an expired foreign driver’s license
    • Hold a Michigan driver’s license or a license from another state that is expired for more than four years

    Ready To Drive

    Practice

    Now that you have your Temporary Instruction Permit you can now schedule your drives.

    • Call the LDA office to schedule your drives with one of your instructors
    • State requires you practice for at least 30 days

    Driving Skills Test

    • LDA supplies the Driving Test
    • Basic control skills
    • On-the-road driving requirements

    Return to SOS Office

    • After passing skills test, take skills test certificate, TIP and identification to Secretary of State office
    • License will be issued
    • A limited-term license will be issued to residents who have temporary legal presence
    • No fee
    • Restrictions may apply for medical conditions
    • First license – three-year probation
  • Requirements

    T

    Testing

    TIP

    Temporary Instruction Permit

    SS

    Social Security

    Michigan law requires the Department of State to collect and verify Social Security numbers before issuing a driver’s license or state identification card.
    (Michigan Vehicle Code, 1949 PA 300, as amended by 1998 PA 330; and State Identification Card Act, 1972 PA 222, as amended by 2008 PA 31.)

    Social Security numbers are used for child support collection and to assist in establishing identity.

    What do I have to bring to a Secretary of State office to prove I have a valid Social Security number?

    The following documents will be accepted:

    • Your Social Security card.
    • W-2 or 1099 form.
    • Pay stub containing your name and Social Security number.
    • Valid U.S. military ID card with photo (DD-2 or CAC card). (Documents expired less than one year will also be accepted.)
    • If you are ineligible for a Social Security number, you must have a letter of ineligibility from the Social Security Administration attesting to that fact. Letters that are more than 30 days old won’t be accepted.

    All Social Security information will be verified. If you fail to provide a valid Social Security number or provide proof demonstrating your ineligibility, your driver’s license or state ID application can’t be processed.

    (All information above is from Michigan.gov  Social Security)

ADULT DRIVING LESSONS (IN-CAR)

Choose Your Package
  • Behind-the-wheel Lessons
  • State Driving Skills Test Study Guide
  • Pick-up | Drop-off*

    If outside 7 mile radius there will be a $1.50 per-mile charge each day picked-up.

  • Classroom Instruction | TIP Test
  • Mock Parking Test Practice
  • Mock Driving Skills Test

6 Hrs Basic

$395
  • 6 Hours

10 Hrs Enhanced

$600
  • 10 Hours
  • Optional*

    Add 4 hours of classroom instruction or substitue drive time for classroom time.

18 Hrs Enhanced

$1040
  • 18 Hours
  • Optional*

    Add 4 hours of classroom instruction or substitue drive time for classroom time.

Save $200

24 Hrs Enhanced

$1320
  • 24 Hours
  • Optional*

    Add 4 hours of classroom instruction or substitue drive time for classroom time.

ADULT DRIVING LESSONS (LECTURE)

Choose Your Package
  • In Person or Virtual Class
  • WEDMK State Book
  • DMV TIP Study Guide
  • Practice Test Questions
  • "NEW DRIVER..." Magnet

Adult Class Basic

$240
  • 4 Hours

Adult TIP Prep

$240
  • 4 Hours

Adult Class Enhanced

$460
  • 8 Hours
STUDENT LOGIN
X